Two Rails On a Cross Road to Jyothy

Posted: November 29, 2011 in Life
Tags: ,

If you ask me, what the favorite color of Jyothy is, or what she would like to wear on a reception, or who her childhood hero is, or if she had crush on someone, I have no answer. Nor, can I have a wild  guess. Because I have no idea about Jyothy Sreedhar’s personal likes and dislikes. We do not share anything personal, either. But, I know her favorite poesy is post-modern and she would love to read Sylvia Plath and Nandita. They are not something secret too. This is when I reached the realization of a fact that a best friend need not to be the one who knows everything personal about you. In fact even the best enemy can be your best friend. Or I would name it Jyothy Sreedhar.

Facebook was not really sensational, nor a most commoner when I met Jyothy Sreedhar on it. I used to make sure that I had a very close circle in my list that was of less than 50 friends who I knew personally. All of a sudden I saw it had been increasing ever since I joined a literature group named “Writers Forum”. Literature and Social Commenting lead to a new circle of friends. On a weekend I was going through the write-ups and comments inside the group. I noticed something really appealing. Apart from other readers inside the group, who comment for the sake of comments with the most cliched “awesome!” “cool!”, and “wow!” having no sincere feelings to majority of their readings, Jyothy and few others were giving a factual feedback to each poems as to why they liked them or not.I liked the reader in Jyothy and I sent a message to thank her personally for all the feedback on my posts in writers forum.

“Hello Jyothy,

Were you trying to say that Opium is what made Keats to write such an artistic approach to pain. Don’t be so silly on public. Anyway thank you for your feedback on my poems.

R’s Arun”

It was the beginning of a 100 years war which is supposed to use another 97 years to come. For the past three years we have been fighting each other, standing firmly upon our causes and cons with a due respect for each other, while having very a few compromise on certain topics. Eventually she falls into my enemies list occupying herself in my top ten list. We could argue on FB from comments to comments; having no personal consideration as how the opponent would feel about the comment. That’s how she became my best enemy ever.

When I was trying to cross two rails on a cross road to Jyo’s house at Alwaye, these were the thoughts going through my mind. The two rails stretches to its ends having no connection to each other. They leads to their ends on a parallel walk having no close attachment. But still they walk close keeping an enmity  inside. The road that crosses the rails just make the sense of their arguments. A best friendship in a best enmity forms only on such scenarios.

There she stood up at the gateway waving her hands to let us know that, “this is my house”. (Out of topic: As we get in to the house, without any intention, I was trying to locate where the historical dog Ruby is.). We received a warm welcome from her Mom. Normally, when I visit a friend’s house, parents would move inside, as we friends get into our own talks. But, her mom, to my luck, did not do that. Well, let me explain what the luck is.

Jyo sat on another chair having her laptop in her hand. I was trying to connect my mobile to internet as Jyo has posted a new poem (on her mirror), in facebook and I’m supposed to read it. It further lead to a status update of Jyo saying “we are visiting her home”. We started commenting each other from our own devices. There is fact I realized then that we don’t have anything to ask personal, other than just argue and comment on our own reasoning and thoughts. The luck here is the presence of her mom who could give me some room for a formal but personal talks, like “how is life?” “how is job?”, “how is dubai?”. Liji used the lion share of that luck as she did not have her laptop in her hand. She and Jyo’s Mom kept on talking, while we continued commenting on status and notes.

When we stood up to say thanks to the hospitality we received from her mom(esp for the Payasam), Jyo said “Come again”. But I was thinking, for us a visit is not required.For us being just online friends from a distant land is pretty similar to meet in person. For us, nothing personal works. For us “a come again” is not less than a formal word. We just travel from some station to some other, like the two rails at this cross road. It seldom touches at edges, only when we have an argument. For rest of the way, being two separate lines makes the beauty of its enmity. The beauty is more, when there is someone to comment upon this enmity. I heard some good rumors. I call it some good rumors, it leaves a room for laughter. They come out of some beautiful egos of some moonlight and vodka likers, lol, play on thus lovely song on thy pipes of egos fella, so long as moon can light and you can drink. By the way, Dear Jyo! we gotta fight for rest of 97 years. Be there my best enemy.

Comments
  1. Mm… Pretty good feel as I finished reading it. Yeah, our friendship was not based on personal shares, it was a literary care rather than a share. And how u had put it was interesting, especially the title was a striking variety! Friendship… enmity, reality…virtuality…goes parallel in our case as though two rails travel across stations! And as u said, the egos were always intruding, and what made us laugh was the absence of a real personal relationship between us contrasting to their funny accuses! We are gonna fight, I am sure till we die, and our words will continue the battle then after our deaths! Don’t you think so! 🙂
    Thanx for a good write up for me. Cheers to our enmity, now and always!

Leave a comment