On Autographs and Memoirs of College Days

Posted: May 4, 2009 in Life
Tags: , , ,

It was in 2000 or 2001, Diana, my classmate during university studies, showed me an article, written by herself and Danny, her brother, titled “Keep in Touch”. It was to publish in our class letter, and later it was elected to the college magazine for the year. The present drift Orkut or any other was not fashioned those days, nor was a delusion. Everyone one could easily have down pat the contact number even without looking into their contact list. A very few used a phone book and rest could auto dial the number of their close hearts by their finger. I still remember how well she and her brother wrote the best way to keep one’s old friend in touch and the warmth our old friend could sense when we rang them after such a long span. I was stimulated reading her piece of writing and ran to a public telephone to call my good old links. The piece was vindicated and I could experience it from the rejoinder of my friends.

A week ago, I was down by chicken pox and was reading the “The Class” (By Erich Segal). It was the second reading, but the first read was a tough task for me, since my comprehension skills in English were inferior. Well, you can read the plot summary here. It haunted me, the question in the novel, “How many of us will live to tell the tale till the next reunion). Five men in the novel were not getting any younger and the question is sensible. By a power indefinite, I started searching my college autograph. I started missing them, my classmates. It was there in my book holder. I read it from the first leaf. For the first time I noticed a general conclusion in nearly all the autographs written by my friends. “If we have a chance to meet again someday, even if something important happens on that day, I would subside it, and will join you all”. I hate it. I hate that sentence in all sense. The book of memoirs looked like a book of lies to me. An autograph is a book of lies. It speaks of emotional lies that will hurt the heart for a petite span of time and will never last for the life.

 I know, Diana will oppose my cause. Few months back, while a casual talk with her, I shot a question to her. “Diana, envisage we are having a gathering when we are on 60s and 70s. Some of us are having big pot belly and some are partially deaf or blind, yet some are supported to walk. How many of us will reunite?” She replied swiftly “Five or Six”. I take for granted that she must have counted me and my wife. The number is very less while comparing to our class potency. It was also not the rationale that many may be expired by that time. She was (is) right. Long back, we tried to have gathering. I think it is just if I quote a reply which is quite similar to the majority of the responses. “Well, I’m not sure if I’m free on that day. As of now the day is vacant. But who knows if something could be scheduled. If nothing is slated on that day, I can join you.” The one who promised me in the autograph to subside whatever is important just for our reunion was then looking for some other grounds. The reunion is now marginalized. We can’t blame any. Each second in life is appointed. As Diana says “Everyone is engaged for their lives”. She is wrong. It’s in small cases like giving a missed call, or an offline message, a memo is conveyed, “I remember you”. If they are not even executed, there is nothing worth in writing or keeping an autograph.

 I don’t know if a gathering as in the novel the Class is practical. But I pray, by the will of God, if we have a gathering at the age of 60s or 70s, let not the count of Diana becomes accurate. Let’s all live till then and reunite. God may do his part, but, do my classmates?

Comments
  1. Devi says:

    Good one Arun…….

  2. radhika hari says:

    its true.

Leave a Reply

