The Raven and My Nostalgia

Posted: August 7, 2006 in Life
Tags:

My friend Retish was not happy, as I made a quick leave, no sooner did my shift end, this Sunday. He needed me to assist him organize ping pong series. But I was to go to line up left wing back for the beach club soccer. I think he might have prayed that the match was postponed. Neither a movie of interesting thread was found in T V. Eventually I sat with a collection of American Poets. Poe was on my shelf who I studied for my masters. The Raven was first to pop up.

On running after lines and lines, it took me to nostalgic feeling though the poem serves another to a critic. It was the raven (crow) who led me to my childhood where I remember a crippled crow who was the first visitor of the days. We recognised him as he had lost one of the left leg fingers. My dad used to set out for job at 7 30 and the crow was present by 6 30 everyday. He waited till my dad gave him a bowl of rice. And once dad was out he flew away. In the afternoon he used to come back and have his part from my mom. The last piece of snacks served in the evening was meant for him.

The interesting things I found, he never hijacked the chickens hanged out in the courtiyard nor did the seeds sown in the vegetable garden. Nor was a nuisance with his sick sound. He replied to my moms questions in the right pitch like “why are you late?, where have you been so far?”, still I don’t know if he gave her the exact answer but my grandma used to interpret it and it was nice to see that he answered all the concerns. And all of oneday he disappeared and never back. He might have died or found another shelter…still he leaves colors in my childhood memoirs and like the poet

“Ah, distinctly I remember it was in the bleak December,
And each separate dying ember wrought its ghost upon the floor.
Eagerly I wished the morrow; – vainly I had sought to borrow
From my books surcease of sorrow – sorrow for the lost Lenore –
For the rare and radiant maiden whom the angels named Lenore –
Nameless here for evermore.”

 

Comments
  1. bobbyRicky says:

    i like your style – very fresh

Leave a Reply

